## **OREGON STATE BAR – DEBTOR-CREDITOR SECTION EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES**

Tuesday, May 07, 2024, 12:00 pm Via Zoom Only

Members present: Douglas R. Ricks (Chair), Stephen Raher (Chair Elect), Holly Hayman (Treasurer), Zachariah Conway (Secretary), John Thomas (Member), Laura Zaro (Member), Daniel Bonham (Member), Ian Wallace (Member), Garrett Eggen (Member).

Members not present: Cassie K. Jones (Past Chair), Jeanne Sinnott (Member), Judge David W. Hercher (Advisory Member).

Guest present: Karen Lee (OSB Liaison).

- 1. Call to Order. The Chair called the meeting to order at 12:06 PM.
- **2. Minutes.** Mr. Wallace moved to approve the minutes of the April 16, 2024 meeting. The motion passed unanimously.
- **3.** NCBJ Sponsorship. The committee discussed promotion of the NCBJ Annual Meeting in Seattle, WA in coordination with the WSBA Creditor-Debtor Section. Mr. Ricks reported on his conversation with Todd Tracy regarding a request that the OSB provide informational and logistical support. Ms. Hayman moved to authorize the NWBI committee to work on sponsorship and to authorize Mr. Ricks to work with Todd Tracy to work on planning and publicizing details as necessary. The motion passed unanimously.
- **4. Annual Meeting.** The committee discussed the Section's Annual Meeting. Ms. Hayman reported on the status of the reserve. Mr. Raher moved to authorize the Annual Meeting Committee to hold an event and tasked it to secure a venue and work on programming. The motion passed unanimously.
- **5.** Next Meeting. Mr. Ricks indicated he would circulate proposed dates for next meeting by email, targeting late June to mid-July dates.
- 6. Other business. Mr. Ricks discussed a request from Catholic Charities regarding a presentation on bankruptcy law. Mr. Ricks discussed an email he received from The Pew Charitable Trusts regarding debt collection practices and indicated that he will have more details at the next meeting.
- 7. Adjournment. There being no further business, the Chair adjourned the meeting at 12:23 PM.

Submitted by: Zachariah D. Conway, Secretary